iPod Touch: 'January Software Upgrade' after 1.1.4

When the 1.1.3 firmware upgrade came along for the iPod Touch, I decided to hold off a little. The additions to the OS were Mail, Maps, Stocks, Notes and the customizable Home Screen. The upgrade cost 20 USD or 17.99 EUR. Short thereafter 1.1.4 was released, which caused the notification for the ‘January Software Upgrade’ to disappear.

Afterwards I decided to purchase the upgrade anyway, but couldn’t find a trace of it anymore. The link on Apple’s website points to a page in iTunes, but clicking on the ‘OK’-button resulted into a blank page. Over and over again.

After some Google-foo I found the following link: http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=271872604&s=143441. From here, I was perfectly able to purchase the update after all.

I wonder why Apple doesn’t make it easier for them to haul in even more money.
Ah well.

(Source: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1418496&tstart=0)

25 thoughts on “iPod Touch: 'January Software Upgrade' after 1.1.4

  1. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, i can’t say it enough i’ve had big problems with the link on apples pages and it has not worked so thank you very much

  2. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, Thank you,i can’t say it enough i’ve had big problems with the link on apples pages and it has not worked so thank you very much

  3. Just like Ian Robinson above… THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU Stupid of Apple not to see that happening in version 1.1.4.

  4. Just like Ian Robinson above…THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOUStupid of Apple not to see that happening in version 1.1.4.

  5. you are my hero, my son has been nagging me to download this software for weeks, everything I try fails. I too kept getting sent back to that same page, pressed okay and nothing happens. Thank you for this information, now my son and I are happy.

  6. you are my hero, my son has been nagging me to download this software for weeks, everything I try fails. I too kept getting sent back to that same page, pressed okay and nothing happens. Thank you for this information, now my son and I are happy.

  7. Hi Natalia and Clinton,I haven’t been able to test this, but I think the reason you can’t download the update is because Apple recently announced its latest iPhone 3G. Along with it, Apple will also ship the software updates out to iPod Touch owners. So I reckon they’ll want to make you purchase the latest update, which will include all of the features of 1.1.4, allegedly.Apple is known for upselling their products. So I guess you guys will have to wait a bit longer. I suspect the price tag for the iPod Touch 2.0 update will be comparable to 1.1.4.I hope this helped you and..Thanks for visiting!Ace

  8. Hi Natalia and Clinton,I haven’t been able to test this, but I think the reason you can’t download the update is because Apple recently announced its latest iPhone 3G. Along with it, Apple will also ship the software updates out to iPod Touch owners. So I reckon they’ll want to make you purchase the latest update, which will include all of the features of 1.1.4, allegedly.Apple is known for upselling their products. So I guess you guys will have to wait a bit longer. I suspect the price tag for the iPod Touch 2.0 update will be comparable to 1.1.4.I hope this helped you and..Thanks for visiting!Ace

  9. I called Apple customer service and the guy was really nice, he checked and told me that the January Update is taken off since Apple will release 2.0 update on July 11 and it will include january update plus some other enhancements. It will be free for iPhone users. Ipod Touch folks will have to pay for it…

  10. I called Apple customer service and the guy was really nice, he checked and told me that the January Update is taken off since Apple will release 2.0 update on July 11 and it will include january update plus some other enhancements. It will be free for iPhone users. Ipod Touch folks will have to pay for it…

Leave a Reply

