Oklahoma State Representative: "homosexuality is destroying this nation, death knell for this country"…

UPDATE #4: Sally Kern replies and listen to the “Sally Kern Ballad” in my follow-up post here.

UPDATE #3: Apparently, YouTube pulled the video I referred to from their website. I replaced it with an other one. Who still wants Sally Kern to represent the people..?

UPDATE #2: S. Kern recently officially acknowledged her speech and refuses to apologize. The democrat governor of Oklahoma Brad Henry has shown his dismay and states this is not their party’s stance.

Brad Henry:

“Some should think before they speak.”

UPDATE #1: The ‘Not a Potted Plant‘-blog encourages all who agree that the Sally Kern’s speech is “anachronistic, ignorant and an embarrassment to modern political and social discourse” to express your opinion freely  at:

Sally Kern
Oklahoma State House of Representatives, District 84
2713 Sterling Avenue
Oklahoma City, OK 73127
(405) 557-7348
sallykern@okhouse.gov

Oklahoma State Representative Sally Kern has a little speech about her views on homosexuality. Obviously, she didn’t expect her ranting to pass beyond the Oklahoma border. Too bad. It’s all over the Internet. She describes homosexuality as:

  • having deadly consequences (more suicides, illness, shorter lifespans)
  • a not acceptable lifestyle
  • the death knell for the US
  • a bigger threat than terrorists and Islam (huh?)
  • an indoctrination
  • ruining youngsters’ lives
  • a disease that spreads

Here’s the YouTube video of her speaking on the topic. The transcript lies below.

Sally Kern, gay-basher The homosexual agenda is destroying this nation, okay. It’s just a fact. Not everybody’s lifestyle is equal. Just like not all religions are equal. The very fact that I’m talking to you like this today puts me in jeopardy, okay. I’m not anti, I’m not gay-bashing, but according to God’s word that is not the right kind of lifestyle. It has deadly consequences for those people involved in it. It has more suicides. They’re more discouraged. There’s more illness. Their lifespans are shorter. You know, it’s not a lifestyle that is good for this nation. It’s a matter of fact, studies show that no society that has totally embraced homosexuality has lasted more than, you know, a few decades. So it’s the death knell for this country. I honestly think it’s the biggest threat, even in our nation. Even more so than terrorists, or Islam, okay.

Cause, what’s happening now, they’re going after, err, in schools, two year olds! You know why they’re trying to get early childhood education? They want to get our young children into the government schools so they can indoctrinate them. I taught school for close to 20 years and we’re not teaching facts and knowledge anymore, folks, we’re teaching indoctrination, okay. And they’re going after our young children, as young as 2 year of age, to try to teach them that the homosexual lifestyle is an acceptable lifestyle.

You know, gays are infiltrating city capitals. Did you know, Eureka Springs, anybody been there? Have you heard that the city council of Eureka Springs is now controlled by gays? There are some others, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Kensington Maryland, Vermont, Oregon, West Palm Beach, Florida and lots of other places in Florida. What’s happening?

They are winning elections, one of the things I deal with in our legislature, I tried to introduce a bill last year that would notify parents, err, schools had to let parents know what clubs their students were involved in and the reason I did that bill, primarily, was this: we had the gay-straight alliance coming into our schools. Kids are getting involved in these groups, their lives are being ruined, the parents don’t know about it.

So I introduced a bill that said you have to notify all the clubs participants’ parents. A colleague said: we don’t have a gay problem in my community, that’s why I’m not going to release that bill. You know what, to me, that’s so dumb, if you’ve got cancer or something in your little toe, do you say I’m just going to forget about it because the rest of you is fine? It spreads, okay. And this stuff is deadly and it’s spreading and it will destroy our young people and it will destroy this nation.

31 thoughts on “Oklahoma State Representative: "homosexuality is destroying this nation, death knell for this country"…

  1. A basic grasp of the English language would probably give you a little credibility while you attempt to advance your special-interest agenda. 1) It’s not “death nail”, it’s a “death knell”. 2) Ending a sentence with “okay” indicates you are seeking some sort of acknowledgment. It’s grammatically unnecessary, but since you decided to use it in half your speech, you should have at least used a question mark to punctuate it following each use. A bigger threat to this civilization than terrorists or “Islam” is a mass of inarticulate want-wits who somehow manage to get elected to public office with the oratory skills of five year olds. Way to set that bar good and high! Stupid people will destroy this nation long before gays do.

  2. A basic grasp of the English language would probably give you a little credibility while you attempt to advance your special-interest agenda.1) It’s not “death nail”, it’s a “death knell”.2) Ending a sentence with “okay” indicates you are seeking some sort of acknowledgment. It’s grammatically unnecessary, but since you decided to use it in half your speech, you should have at least used a question mark to punctuate it following each use.A bigger threat to this civilization than terrorists or “Islam” is a mass of inarticulate want-wits who somehow manage to get elected to public office with the oratory skills of five year olds. Way to set that bar good and high! Stupid people will destroy this nation long before gays do.

  3. […] Focus on the Family, operator of the Love Won Out ex-gay roadshow and sponsor of ex-gay billboard campaigns, tonight defended Oklahoma state Rep. Sally Kern after she said gay people were the biggest threat to the United States, “even more so than terrorists and Islam.” […]

  4. Dear Miss/Mrs Kern I am writing to you to say how much I agree views on homosexuality and the possible effects that the ‘Gay Rights ‘ movement will have upon the country. In my younger days it was a crime to engage in homosexual activities but persistant lobbying on their behalf changed all that. First they wanted the right to consensual sex without the fear of prosecution,which succeeded. Second they asked for equal rights in the workplace and the community. Success breeds success so up comes the next demand, (no longer a request), “We want the same rights as married people.”(pensions, benefits and so forth). Finally they show their true colours as they prepare for the, ‘Coup de Grace’. “We want to adopt children and we want same sex marriage.”Now their final objective is revealed. It is the children that they really want, for if the children can be brought up by a same sex couple then they will surely come to believethat, if it is alright for Mum and Mum or Dad and Dad then it is ok for me too, if I want to try it. If and when we reach this point it will be too late for you, Miss/Mrs Kern, and any like-minded people to do anything about it. Thankfully I shall probably not live to see this final break-up of society. I wish you every success. Yours truly R Seymour

  5. Dear Miss/Mrs Kern I am writing to you to say how much I agree views on homosexuality and the possible effects that the ‘Gay Rights ‘ movement will have upon the country. In my younger days it was a crime to engage in homosexual activities but persistant lobbying on their behalf changed all that. First they wanted the right to consensual sex without the fear of prosecution,which succeeded. Second they asked for equal rights in the workplace and the community. Success breeds success so up comes the next demand, (no longer a request), “We want the same rights as married people.”(pensions, benefits and so forth). Finally they show their true colours as they prepare for the, ‘Coup de Grace’. “We want to adopt children and we want same sex marriage.”Now their final objective is revealed. It is the children that they really want, for if the children can be brought up by a same sex couple then they will surely come to believethat, if it is alright for Mum and Mum or Dad and Dad then it is ok for me too, if I want to try it. If and when we reach this point it will be too late for you, Miss/Mrs Kern, and any like-minded people to do anything about it. Thankfully I shall probably not live to see this final break-up of society. I wish you every success. Yours truly R Seymour

  6. I had my formative education in Tulsa, Oklahoma. As a gay teen I was taught that monsters do in fact walk the earth. The monsters were my fellow school mates, teachers, councilors and educators who perceived — rightfully so — that I was homosexual and for that crime I should be subjected to verbal and physical abuse. My tormentors delighted in their daily harangue — some bolstered by the advice of my teachers that “homosexuality is a mental disorder” — I was seeing a psychiatrist because of an attempted suicide. WHAT WAS WRONG WITH ME?!!? I hated myself, felt hopeless, helpless, and wanted so desperately to have a friend. I cried. Through my school years in Oklahoma, I cried. My parents moved me from school to school, Wright Junior High, Wilson Junior High, Nimitz Junior High, Memorial High School, Tulsa Central High — the abuse followed me where ever I went and so did my tears. I was “different” I was effete, I was a big homo and everyone knew it! — Everyone but me. I thought I was the only one. Do you think ANYONE would want to be my friend — much less become a homo, too? Merely talking to me was a taboo fraught with the danger of being labeled a queer! In 1967, tired of the abuse, tired of my tears, I ran away from home, from Oklahoma, and from the idea of despising myself. I embraced who I was and in 1977 I met my life partner. We’re still together — happily living in New Orleans. That Sally Kern was an Oklahoma educator is not surprising. That a State Legislator of Oklahoma feels empowered to vilify homosexuals and use the pulpit of an elected official to spew hatred is not surprising. That she should not receive censure from her superiors but support is not surprising. That her fellow Legislators offered her a standing ovation is not surprising. That the gay youth in Oklahoma will continue to be persecuted, abused, and feel hopelessness is not surprising.Please stop the hate, Oklahoma. It is not homosexuality that is a threat to this nation, it is hatred and bigotry, wrapped in the guise of Biblical scripture. Hitler made the same claim to his German Protestant followers when he claimed “the Jews have infiltrated our land, they have infested our communities and they must be eradicated or they will destroy our nation.”Because no one stood up and bravely stated, “This is wrong,” the greatest Crime Against Humanity was allowed to happen.I do not believe that gays will be exterminated, but I do recognize the hate-filled words that could lead to such a catastrophe if left unchecked.Censure Rep. Sally Kern! Remove her from public office immediately! Do not allow the real “cancer” to continue to grow in the Oklahoma State Legislature.Representatives of the Oklahoma State Legislature represent ALL the people, gay, straight, black, Native American, Islamic, Protestant, Catholic, Jewish, and even the Christian Fundamentalists who continue to believe that only white Christians and their ideals are welcome in Oklahoma.I am first and foremost a proud American. After that I am a proud gay man. And somewhere inside lies a child that was wounded — that child was asleep until Sally’s angry voice woke him and the tears returned.

  7. I had my formative education in Tulsa, Oklahoma. As a gay teen I was taught that monsters do in fact walk the earth. The monsters were my fellow school mates, teachers, councilors and educators who perceived — rightfully so — that I was homosexual and for that crime I should be subjected to verbal and physical abuse. My tormentors delighted in their daily harangue — some bolstered by the advice of my teachers that “homosexuality is a mental disorder” — I was seeing a psychiatrist because of an attempted suicide. WHAT WAS WRONG WITH ME?!!? I hated myself, felt hopeless, helpless, and wanted so desperately to have a friend. I cried. Through my school years in Oklahoma, I cried. My parents moved me from school to school, Wright Junior High, Wilson Junior High, Nimitz Junior High, Memorial High School, Tulsa Central High — the abuse followed me where ever I went and so did my tears. I was “different” I was effete, I was a big homo and everyone knew it! — Everyone but me. I thought I was the only one. Do you think ANYONE would want to be my friend — much less become a homo, too? Merely talking to me was a taboo fraught with the danger of being labeled a queer! In 1967, tired of the abuse, tired of my tears, I ran away from home, from Oklahoma, and from the idea of despising myself. I embraced who I was and in 1977 I met my life partner. We’re still together — happily living in New Orleans.That Sally Kern was an Oklahoma educator is not surprising. That a State Legislator of Oklahoma feels empowered to vilify homosexuals and use the pulpit of an elected official to spew hatred is not surprising. That she should not receive censure from her superiors but support is not surprising. That her fellow Legislators offered her a standing ovation is not surprising. That the gay youth in Oklahoma will continue to be persecuted, abused, and feel hopelessness is not surprising.Please stop the hate, Oklahoma. It is not homosexuality that is a threat to this nation, it is hatred and bigotry, wrapped in the guise of Biblical scripture. Hitler made the same claim to his German Protestant followers when he claimed “the Jews have infiltrated our land, they have infested our communities and they must be eradicated or they will destroy our nation.”Because no one stood up and bravely stated, “This is wrong,” the greatest Crime Against Humanity was allowed to happen.I do not believe that gays will be exterminated, but I do recognize the hate-filled words that could lead to such a catastrophe if left unchecked.Censure Rep. Sally Kern! Remove her from public office immediately! Do not allow the real “cancer” to continue to grow in the Oklahoma State Legislature.Representatives of the Oklahoma State Legislature represent ALL the people, gay, straight, black, Native American, Islamic, Protestant, Catholic, Jewish, and even the Christian Fundamentalists who continue to believe that only white Christians and their ideals are welcome in Oklahoma.I am first and foremost a proud American. After that I am a proud gay man. And somewhere inside lies a child that was wounded — that child was asleep until Sally’s angry voice woke him and the tears returned.

  8. […] Sally Kern, representante republicana del estado de Oklahoma y mujer de un pastor baptista, afirmó recientemente en una reunión de republicanos fuera del capitolio que la agenda homosexual está destruyendo la nación. […]

  9. Sally Kern and the Oklahoma Chamber of Commerce believe that they are right. Please help us in Oklahoma combat this hate. The Equal Rights Project needs your help to fight this battle. I hope that you will join with us and send a message to Sally and other bigots that this is NOT acceptable!www.equalrightsproject.comVisit the ActBlue page at:http://www.actblue.com/page/stopsally

  10. Sally Kern and the Oklahoma Chamber of Commerce believe that they are right. Please help us in Oklahoma combat this hate. The Equal Rights Project needs your help to fight this battle. I hope that you will join with us and send a message to Sally and other bigots that this is NOT acceptable!www.equalrightsproject.comVisit the ActBlue page at:http://www.actblue.com/page/stopsally

  11. I was disappointed to hear the hate filled rant of Oklahoma Republican Legislator Sally Kern. Why waste time on this when there are bigger threats to our ChristoAmerican way of life? I speak of the terrible Abomination…. Shellfish.Leviticus 11: 9These shall ye eat of all that are in the waters: whatsoever hath fins and scales in the waters, in the seas, and in the rivers, them shall ye eat. 10And all that have not fins and scales in the seas, and in the rivers, of all that move in the waters, and of any living thing which is in the waters, they shall be an abomination unto you: 11They shall be even an abomination unto you; ye shall not eat of their flesh, but ye shall have their carcasses in abomination. 12Whatsoever hath no fins nor scales in the waters that shall be an abomination unto you. (KJV)Yes Clearly God Hates Shrimp.This Shellfish Agenda is destroying this Nation, okay? Its just a fact. Not all seafood is created equal. Just like not all religions are created equal. I’m not Shellfish bashing , but according to God’s word that is not the right kind of lifestyle. It has deadly consequences for those people involved in it. Salmonella. Shellfish is not a lifestyle that is good for this nation. It’s a matter of fact, studies show that no society that has totally embraced shellfish eating has lasted more than… you know… a few decades. I honestly think it’s the biggest threat, even in our nation, Even more than terrorist, or Islam, okay.Cause what’s happening now, they’re going after, err, in schools, two year olds! They want our young children indoctrinated into this Shellfish lifestyle. Shrimp, crab, lobster, clams, mussels fed to children as young as 2 years old; trying to teach them that shellfish is an acceptable lifestyle.Did you know that shellfish is infiltrating our city capitals? Long John Silvers? Anybody been there? Red Lobster? Even Popeye’s. There are some other places in Florida and Virginal beach. What’s happening?You can find shellfish in more and more local grocery stores as if it was “natural”. And the kids are buying it and their lives are being ruined. And the parents don’t know about it. I try to warn people and a colleague said” we don’t have any shellfish problem around here.” You know what? To me that’s so dumb. If you got cancer or something in your little toe do you say I’m just going to forget about it because the rest of you is fine. I guarantee you walk into any mega-super mart and you’ll find more frozen shrimp in the stores then you will homos. It spreads ok. And this stuff is deadly and it will destroy our young people and it will destroy our nation. GOD BLESS A SHRIMP- FREE NATION!!!

  12. I was disappointed to hear the hate filled rant of Oklahoma Republican Legislator Sally Kern. Why waste time on this when there are bigger threats to our ChristoAmerican way of life? I speak of the terrible Abomination…. Shellfish.Leviticus 11: 9These shall ye eat of all that are in the waters: whatsoever hath fins and scales in the waters, in the seas, and in the rivers, them shall ye eat. 10And all that have not fins and scales in the seas, and in the rivers, of all that move in the waters, and of any living thing which is in the waters, they shall be an abomination unto you: 11They shall be even an abomination unto you; ye shall not eat of their flesh, but ye shall have their carcasses in abomination. 12Whatsoever hath no fins nor scales in the waters that shall be an abomination unto you. (KJV)Yes Clearly God Hates Shrimp.This Shellfish Agenda is destroying this Nation, okay? Its just a fact. Not all seafood is created equal. Just like not all religions are created equal. I’m not Shellfish bashing , but according to God’s word that is not the right kind of lifestyle. It has deadly consequences for those people involved in it. Salmonella. Shellfish is not a lifestyle that is good for this nation. It’s a matter of fact, studies show that no society that has totally embraced shellfish eating has lasted more than… you know… a few decades. I honestly think it’s the biggest threat, even in our nation, Even more than terrorist, or Islam, okay.Cause what’s happening now, they’re going after, err, in schools, two year olds! They want our young children indoctrinated into this Shellfish lifestyle. Shrimp, crab, lobster, clams, mussels fed to children as young as 2 years old; trying to teach them that shellfish is an acceptable lifestyle.Did you know that shellfish is infiltrating our city capitals? Long John Silvers? Anybody been there? Red Lobster? Even Popeye’s. There are some other places in Florida and Virginal beach. What’s happening?You can find shellfish in more and more local grocery stores as if it was “natural”. And the kids are buying it and their lives are being ruined. And the parents don’t know about it.I try to warn people and a colleague said” we don’t have any shellfish problem around here.” You know what? To me that’s so dumb. If you got cancer or something in your little toe do you say I’m just going to forget about it because the rest of you is fine. I guarantee you walk into any mega-super mart and you’ll find more frozen shrimp in the stores then you will homos. It spreads ok. And this stuff is deadly and it will destroy our young people and it will destroy our nation.GOD BLESS A SHRIMP- FREE NATION!!!

  13. The ignorance and deliberate deciept of Ralph Seymors comment deserves looking at. He describes gays demanding equal rights as if its a crime. Any American citizen, whether Ralph likes it or not, has the right to demand equal rights in this country. Get over it.His nasty assertion that there is a grand conspiracy of gays to adopt children so they can – as he has implied – teach the children to be gay is simply a huge lie. Gay people are not trying to turn anyone gay – much less children. Also, people dont become gay by “trying it” as Mr. Seymors ignorantly suggeststs. You are either born that way or you’re not. Also, his warning that if we dont act now or it will be ” ‘too late’ – is simply hate based fear mongering.

  14. The ignorance and deliberate deciept of Ralph Seymors comment deserves looking at. He describes gays demanding equal rights as if its a crime. Any American citizen, whether Ralph likes it or not, has the right to demand equal rights in this country. Get over it.His nasty assertion that there is a grand conspiracy of gays to adopt children so they can – as he has implied – teach the children to be gay is simply a huge lie. Gay people are not trying to turn anyone gay – much less children. Also, people dont become gay by “trying it” as Mr. Seymors ignorantly suggeststs. You are either born that way or you’re not. Also, his warning that if we dont act now or it will be ” ‘too late’ – is simply hate based fear mongering.

  15. Representative Kern:God bless you. I admire you for taking a stand for God and allowing the Holy Spirit to work through you to proclaim Jesus Christ.Your Friend in Christ,Rita Duncan

  16. Representative Kern:God bless you. I admire you for taking a stand for God and allowing the Holy Spirit to work through you to proclaim Jesus Christ.Your Friend in Christ,Rita Duncan

  17. It is people like Sally Kern that make people like us that are different feel less than full fledged Americans. As an atheist, I have seen and been involved with some of the most insane and bigoted discussion about my perspective on religion and can say that most people that are opposed to say homosexuality or atheists and so on live in the land of ignorance and have built their homes there. It is sad to see that a patriotic American and veteran as myself and many other homosexuals and atheists are some of the last hold outs of discrimination and hate. It is strange that a person holding to the Constitution can be viewed as a terrorist and those wishing to violate the Consitition can be viewed as one doing good. We have laws in this country that support equal rights and when an elected official spews out nonsense such as Rep. Kern has done, it weakens our republic more than all the agendas of every minority group in the country. Say what you wish Rep. Kern but do not think you will be in the State House next term. You should be impeached. You make all good people of Oklahoma look like fools.

  18. It is people like Sally Kern that make people like us that are different feel less than full fledged Americans. As an atheist, I have seen and been involved with some of the most insane and bigoted discussion about my perspective on religion and can say that most people that are opposed to say homosexuality or atheists and so on live in the land of ignorance and have built their homes there.It is sad to see that a patriotic American and veteran as myself and many other homosexuals and atheists are some of the last hold outs of discrimination and hate. It is strange that a person holding to the Constitution can be viewed as a terrorist and those wishing to violate the Consitition can be viewed as one doing good.We have laws in this country that support equal rights and when an elected official spews out nonsense such as Rep. Kern has done, it weakens our republic more than all the agendas of every minority group in the country.Say what you wish Rep. Kern but do not think you will be in the State House next term. You should be impeached. You make all good people of Oklahoma look like fools.

  19. This is abuse of power. Elected officials must represent all not just a select view from religious beliefs that probably stem from being raised from a family out of ” Deliverance ”Sally’s husband is a prominent baptist minister, contact info is below. This behavior that she can do no wrong and is above others classicnarcissist. Don’t stop here go farther above her and let’s get her removed.Sally Kern is a disgrace and needs to resign immediately, interesting to find her Husband is a ” Man of God ” a Baptist minister, so if his views are the same they perpetuate Spiritual Shame, which I think is the most harmful. Her husband Dr. Steve Kern @ Olivet Baptist Church’s email is janela1019@sbcglobal.netI am interested in his opinion. Sally’s contact info belowCapitol Address:2300 N. Lincoln Blvd.Room 332Oklahoma City, OK 73105(405) 557-7348District Address:2713 Sterling Ave.Oklahoma City, OK 73127Email:sallykern@okhouse.gov

  20. This is abuse of power. Elected officials must represent all not just a select view from religious beliefs that probably stem from being raised from a family out of ” Deliverance ”Sally’s husband is a prominent baptist minister, contact info is below. This behavior that she can do no wrong and is above others classicnarcissist. Don’t stop here go farther above her and let’s get her removed.Sally Kern is a disgrace and needs to resign immediately, interesting to find her Husband is a ” Man of God ” a Baptist minister, so if his views are the same they perpetuate Spiritual Shame, which I think is the most harmful. Her husband Dr. Steve Kern @ Olivet Baptist Church’s email is janela1019@sbcglobal.netI am interested in his opinion. Sally’s contact info belowCapitol Address:2300 N. Lincoln Blvd.Room 332Oklahoma City, OK 73105(405) 557-7348District Address:2713 Sterling Ave.Oklahoma City, OK 73127Email:sallykern@okhouse.gov

  21. I’d like to know how Ms. Kern feels about all the crime drama’s on TV. Every week we are offered a dozen ways to commit mayhem on the human body. Then there’s so much the bed-hopping and sex promotion on prime-time TV. And so many famous people in the news are being promiscuous. Is this the example we want to set for our youth? One might argue that those murder and sex programs are on later in the evening. But the commercials for them are on all day, when young people can, and do, see them. Ms. Kern is so worried about homosexuals. I guess because the murders and bed-hopping are heterosexual, it’s okay with her. Hers is the narrowest mind I’ve ever seen.The Golden Rule says, “Love thy neighbor as thyself.” It doesn’t say, “Love they neighbor, but only if he’s straight.”

  22. I’d like to know how Ms. Kern feels about all the crime drama’s on TV. Every week we are offered a dozen ways to commit mayhem on the human body. Then there’s so much the bed-hopping and sex promotion on prime-time TV. And so many famous people in the news are being promiscuous. Is this the example we want to set for our youth? One might argue that those murder and sex programs are on later in the evening. But the commercials for them are on all day, when young people can, and do, see them. Ms. Kern is so worried about homosexuals. I guess because the murders and bed-hopping are heterosexual, it’s okay with her. Hers is the narrowest mind I’ve ever seen.The Golden Rule says, “Love thy neighbor as thyself.” It doesn’t say, “Love they neighbor, but only if he’s straight.”

  23. Sally Kern-cob’s rant was almost word-for-word a recitation of the script from a vile little video about Eureka Springs, AR released by the homophobes at the American Family Association in January of this year..The AFA is riled that Eureka Springs last year enacted the first Domestic Partnership Registry in Arkansas. Kern-cob made the same allegation as the video: The town of Eureka Springs and its City Council have been taken over by gay folk.Sadly, that’s not the case. But, in addition to the Domestic Partnership Registry (which has drawn couples from 10 different states), we have more than 50 gay-owned businesses in this resort town and four Diversity Weekends each year.Summer Diversity Weekend is scheduled for August 1-3. So, come celebrate with us and get your Domestic Partnership certificate at the same. Think of it as a way to answer Ms. Kern-cob with action and while on vacation.Thanks to the AFA and Kern-cob, the nation’s gay press has picked up on the fact that there is a small town in Arkansas where gays are welcomed and respected. This, for example, from Houston’s OutSmart Magazine:”With all it hass to offer the GLBT traveler, Eureka Springs should be considered on par with Key West, Provicetown and Palm Springs as a gay vacation destination.”Yes, Sally, our secret is OUT . . . thanks to wingnuts like you.For more travel info on Eureka Springs, AR see: http://www.eurekapride.com or http://www.gaynewsbureau.com

  24. Sally Kern-cob’s rant was almost word-for-word a recitation of the script from a vile little video about Eureka Springs, AR released by the homophobes at the American Family Association in January of this year..The AFA is riled that Eureka Springs last year enacted the first Domestic Partnership Registry in Arkansas. Kern-cob made the same allegation as the video: The town of Eureka Springs and its City Council have been taken over by gay folk.Sadly, that’s not the case. But, in addition to the Domestic Partnership Registry (which has drawn couples from 10 different states), we have more than 50 gay-owned businesses in this resort town and four Diversity Weekends each year.Summer Diversity Weekend is scheduled for August 1-3. So, come celebrate with us and get your Domestic Partnership certificate at the same. Think of it as a way to answer Ms. Kern-cob with action and while on vacation.Thanks to the AFA and Kern-cob, the nation’s gay press has picked up on the fact that there is a small town in Arkansas where gays are welcomed and respected. This, for example, from Houston’s OutSmart Magazine:”With all it hass to offer the GLBT traveler, Eureka Springs should be considered on par with Key West, Provicetown and Palm Springs as a gay vacation destination.”Yes, Sally, our secret is OUT . . . thanks to wingnuts like you.For more travel info on Eureka Springs, AR see: http://www.eurekapride.com or http://www.gaynewsbureau.com

Leave a Reply

